Our History

The international community established the Stability Pact for South-Eastern Europe (SEE) as a conflict prevention strategy of the international community, aimed at strengthening the efforts of the countries of South-east Europe in fostering peace, democracy, respect for human rights and economic prosperity, 1999


“It all has started in Sofia”

Stability Pact Initiative for Social Cohesion

Health Network of SEE countries

The SEEHN Network was founded in Sofia, Bulgaria, in April 2001 by the signatories of the Dubrovnik Pledge: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, and The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. The SEE Health Network is a political forum set up to coordinate, implement and evaluate the commitments of the Dubrovnik Pledge, (September 2, 2001) and its regional projects for developing health policy and services. The main purpose of the Network is to provide leadership and to sustain project ownership by the countries in the region.

The Dubrovnik Pledge, on meeting the health needs of vulnerable populations in South-Eastern Europe (SEE) was a cornerstone agreement for cooperation and actions in health. This was the first ever political document on cross border, health development in the SEE region. It was signed by the ministers of health on September 2, 2001, at their first Ministerial Forum. The process was supported by the Council of Europe and WHO Regional Office for Europe in the framework of the Stability Pact.


The Dubrovnik Pledge committed the governments of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro and the Former Republic of Macedonia to modernizing seven areas of public health interest. (For more information see http://seehnsec.blogspot.com/p/about-see-health-network.html)

South-eastern Europe Health Network (SEEHN), is a political and institutional forum set up by the governments of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia to promote peace, reconciliation and health in the region.

In 2011, Israel became a 10th member of the Network. (For more information see http://seehnsec.blogspot.com/p/third-see-ministers-of-health-forum.html)

The main purpose of the SEEHN is to provide leadership and to sustain project ownership by the countries in the region.  WHO/Europe lends technical support to SEEHN’s various health projects, after having supplied its secretariat, along with the Council of Europe, from 2001 to 2009. SEEHN has received political, technical and financial support from 10 partner countries and 5 international organizations.

For over a decade, SEEHN has been the undisputed vehicle of health development in the areas of mental health, communicable diseases, food safety and nutrition, blood safety, tobacco control, information systems, maternal and neonatal health, public health services and health systems.

The Network comprises both representatives from the ministries of health of its member countries and representatives of intergovernmental organizations. The Network operates under the auspices of the Social Cohesion Initiative of the Stability Pact.

The Network is supported by a secretariat run jointly by the Council of Europe and the WHO Regional Office for Europe.

The Stability Pact has transformed into its successor organization, the Regional Co-operation Council. This new structure was designed around priorities defined by the region itself and was officially launched at the joint session of the final Stability Pact Regional Table and inaugural meeting of the Regional Co-operation Council in Sofia (for more information see http://www.rcc.int/pages/6/2/ ) with the full commitment and support from South-east European countries, donor countries and other international actors, such as the European Commission.

The Regional Co-operation Council inherited the mandate of the Stability Pact to oversee co-operation processes in South-east Europe and to support European and Euro-Atlantic integration of the region, 27 February 2008.

SEEHN took over ownership of the regional cooperation for public health on 1 January 2010.

(For more information see http://seehnsec.blogspot.com/p/about-see-health-network.html)

Based on previous agreement in 2008 for the development of regional development centers, the RHDC on CDS and IHR implementation was established at Institute of Public Health, in Tirana, Albania in November 2010. RHDC on Communicable Diseases Surveillance and IHR implementation – Tirana

The center is fostering safety and equity, reducing morbidity and mortality from infectious diseases and increasing joint capacities in South East Europe to implement IHR and early warning systems through regional collaboration and maintenance of a network of communities of practice and by ensuring the regional leadership, ownership and partnership in one health initiative.

“Southeast European Center For Surveillance And Control Of Infectious Diseases” – SECID, established on 04.02.2013, is an integral part of the Regional Development Center of Surveillance and Control of Infectious Diseases, RDC – CDC as well as the Administrative Partner of Institute of Public Health, with international vocation and will develop its activity in the territory of the Republic of Albania and can open its branches inside or outside the country.